lightbrazerzkidai.blogg.se

Dawn of the monsters
Dawn of the monsters








dawn of the monsters

I’ve played plenty of beat’em-ups in my day, and I’ve always had favorite characters in those, but I could still get by with whoever. At this point, combat went from frustrating and plodding to extremely enjoyable.įinding a character that feels good to you is a big part of Dawn of the Monsters. Aegis is a big, fast, and powerful ATOM that feels really good to control. Then I moved on to Aegis, and this is when things clicked for me. The first ATOM I played as, Tempest, felt considerably better than the kaiju, but still wasn’t quite what I wanted.

dawn of the monsters

From here, I moved on to the two ATOMs, which are the massive human-like robots you pilot. After playing a handful of levels with these two characters, I wasn’t really having much fun. The first two characters in the lineup are kaiju with very heavy attacks, but they’re a bit slow for my liking. I wanted to make sure I tried all four playable characters, and for me, I didn’t find a character I really liked until my fourth choice. This is where my first disconnect with Dawn of the Monsters came from. You make your choice of one of four characters, and then hop into the action to bust some skulls. There’s nothing wrong with that in my book! You can always blaze through the story bits that start levels off, and completely skip side conversations that flesh out characters and motivations, leaving you with nothing but monsters to beat the crap out of. While the story does have its moments, bolstered by strong voice acting, it’s all just an excuse to play as a giant creature and smash stuff. If you’re well-versed in the above franchises, you can see how Dawn of the Monsters pretty much cribs plot points from those classics and mashes them together to create a story with a very familiar feeling. A corporation with a shady history, giant creatures hellbent on the annihilation of the human race, a symbiotic relationship between pilots and their weapons of destruction, and of course, psychic kids. If you’ve seen any Godzilla film, the Pacific Rim movies, or Neon Genesis Evangelion, you’re going to be intimately familiar with what’s going on here. To be completely honest, the game’s story and theme are less an homage, and more an unabashed copy. Dawn of the Monsters, at least thematically, is the amalgamation of the heavy-hitters in the kaiju genre.










Dawn of the monsters